SMP signs global publishing partnership with Black River Publishing

SMP signs global publishing partnership with Black River Publishing

SMP (Sony Music Publishing) Nashville has reportedly signed a global publishing partnership with Black River Publishing.

Under this deal, SMP will offer its global services to the publishing catalog of Black River.

The partnership covers songs of artist-writers MaRynn Taylor, Anna Vaus, Josiah Siska, Abby Anderson, and country star Kelsea Ballerini, as well as songwriters and producers Hannah Kerr, Jacob Davis, Doug Johnson, GRAMMY-winning songwriter Josh Osborne, and Forest Glen Whitehead.

Since its founding 12 years ago, Black River Publishing and its artists achieved several accolades and awards, including thirty No.1 songs and several GRAMMY awards.

This includes a GRAMMY for Best Contemporary Christian Performance/Song for KING & COUNTRY’s God Only Knows and for Best Country Song with Merry Go ‘Round of Kacey Musgraves.

Recently, Josh Van Valkenburg was appointed as the Executive Vice President, Creative, at SMP Nashville at the end of last year.

Van Valkenburg led the A&R strategy of the team, supporting the roster of SMP Nashville, delivering new avenues for the company’s songwriters, and training new talent.

The artists signed by Van Valkenburg throughout his career had more than 70 No.1 Country radio hits. This includes Luke Laird, Gabby Barrett, and Kameron Marlowe.

Black River VP of Publishing Rebekah Gordon stated that the passion for songwriting and music on the administrative as well as the creative front is unmatched between the two companies.

Rusty Gaston, CEO of Sony Music Publishing Nashville mentioned that indie music plays a crucial role in the community of Music Row. Gaston added that Black River did well in recognizing and developing some of the top-charted songwriters in Nashville.

For the unversed, Sony Music Publishing was previously known as Sony/ATV Music Publishing. It is headquartered in New York and is helmed by CEO and Chairman Jon Platt since April 2019.

Source credit: